At the barre

When I saw the poster for the “Intro to Ballet” class at City Dance, I knew this was the opportunity I had been waiting for.  For some time now, I have been wanting to branch out in my dance training and grow in developing my technique in other dance styles.  Don’t get me wrong- I still love hip hop, but there is just a huge realm of dance and movement that I want to explore.  As a good friend of mine put it, developing one’s skills and technique in other dance styles gives one the vocabulary to speak a whole new language, yielding a new range of expression when it comes to movement.

Proudly sporting my Canada pride knee-highs, I was pumped to have the opportunity to get in on this introductory ballet class.  There were about 10 other women there, ranging in age from their mid-twenties to early forties.  The instructor, Ione Barczak, did a fabulous job of introducing us to the foundations of ballet in a simple and non-threatening manner.  I was surprised with how much of the terminology I was familiar with already, but enjoyed the thorough explanations of technique, structure, and history of ballet, along with the chance to perform some basic movements to relaxing music.

Performing my demi plies at the barre by the window, while the sun shone in and a cool breeze blew through the open window that looked out to a vibrant Queen Street below, I felt incredibly thankful to be here in this place.  There have definitely times when I have missed the company of family and friends and the familiarity of life back home in Canada, but there have also been some really awesome moments when I have a strong sense of peace with being here.  This was one of them.

Leave a Reply

