They wanted me too!!

I GOT A JOB!!!!  And not just any job, but an awesome job at a wonderful school!

After 3 interviews this past week and two offers, I have accepted a job teaching a Year 5/6 class (9 and 10 year olds) at a well-respected school in the area of Mt. Eden.  Out of the three interviews I had, this was the one that I wanted the most.  I was elated to find out, when I got a phone call from the principal, that they wanted me too!!

It is so truly amazing, and an answer to much prayer.  Relief, joy, and immense gratitude were among the mix of emotions that followed receiving the news.

In celebratory fashion, we went out for dinner that evening to a restaurant called “Mint Takapuna,” in fulfillment of my wish that when I got a teaching job, we would go there.  Brendon enjoyed a succulent shank of lamb that evening, and I ordered a seafood risotto.  It was a grand celebration.

I have been working quite a bit with Year 5/6 students since coming to NZ, and have really been enjoying this age group. It will be so awesome to have my own class of the little darlings in approximately 6 weeks.   I can’t wait to meet them (my new students)!!  The job starts in Term 3, which is mid July.  Term 2 ends on July 2, and then we have a 2 week break before Term 3 begins.  Prime time for planning and preparation.

So, after making it through 3 interviews this week, and 5 in total since I’ve been in NZ, I can probably offer a few words of advice and wisdom when it comes to interviews.  Understanding how difficult it can be to gauge the outcome of an interview, here are a few tips I’ve picked up over the past week and would like to share with you.

  • If the list of questions that you have for your potential employers is longer than their list for you, that is most likely a bad sign.
  • If the person interviewing you has a list of questions in front of him, but doesn’t ask any of them, and instead uses his question sheet to doodle on, this is also fairly discouraging sign.  But perhaps take into consideration that he may just have a keen interest in cartooning.
  • If your potential employer yawns 4 times during your interview, this is also not good; maybe you’d be better off just packing up and letting him take a nap.  I know what it’s like to be tired, Sir.
  • If the people interviewing you begin to argue and squabble amongst one another during your interview, this is probably a sign that you should pack your bags and run.
  • When the interviewer asks to verify the information for your references, however, this is usually a promising sign.
  • Smiling and nodding by the interviewer in reciprocation of answers you provide is also an encouraging note to draw from.
  • The friendly secretary who excitedly whispers, “How did it go?” as soon as you leave the interview room offers little to no insight into the outcome of the interview.  Both you and her will have to wait until the final results are tallied to truly know the answer to that question.

Although it can be difficult to gauge the outcome of an interview until that much anticipated phone call is received, hopefully my advice here will prove helpful for those who find themselves in that uncomfortable stage of waiting.  So thankful that this stage is over!!   And for the new job that awaits.  Yes, so thankful.

A huge thank you goes out to our family and friends who have been such a huge support and encouragement to me/us though my job search here in Auckland.  In the midst of a process that definitely grew tiresome and discouraging at times, your encouraging words have meant a lot, and your prayers undoubtedly effective.  We are so blessed to have such loving people in our lives supporting us as we continue our journey in this foreign land.

And praise be to God, the Giver of all gifts.  This one certainly a big one.  Thank You.

6 thoughts on “They wanted me too!!

  1. MEL……
    THIS IS SOOOOOOO EXCITING!!!!
    CONGRATULATIONS!!!
    I’m so so happy to hear that you got a job that you will love love love! Most definitely the students will love you, because seriously, you are one of the most loveable people I have had the pleasure of knowing.
    Congratulations again and I can’t wait to hear more when it starts!!
    love & peace.

  2. YAY!! we’re so excited for you Mel. We’ll be praying as you prep to enlighten this new generation. What a lucky bunch they are to have such a cool new teacher!

  3. Mel, I am absolutely extatic about your latest great accomplishment! 8D And I love the celebration pictures. 😉

    Much love from Mad Rhythm,
    Elsa

  4. That is such great news! Congratulations,Mel.I knew they would want you!!Have fun setting up your classroom. Love & hugs to you both.Nanny.

Leave a Reply

