Life in my classroom out West.

I have been enjoying life at my new school in the western suburb of Titirangi.

The staff and students alike have welcomed me warmly, I am gradually figuring out my way around all the new systems, and I am starting to feel “at home”.  The kids in Room 6 are really sweet, and they have welcomed me with open arms (along with adorable hand-made cards).  We had a great first week together getting to know each other, and I think we are going to get on very nicely with each other.

Being here really confirms that this school is a good match for me, and I have a real peace about being here, although adjusting to a new environment is never really easy.  As a teacher, I think it is great for me to have the opportunity to work at and experience the systems of another school, in order to obtain a broader perspective on how things can be done.

My new school campus feels much larger than the previous one, and is surrounded by bush.  There is a shallow creek that runs beside the school yard which they actually allow kids to play in and around.  They even let kids climb trees.  This school really embraces their environment and natural surroundings, and it’s neat that they allow the kids to do that too.

The view out the front windows of my classroom is out to the senior court area.  Out the rear windows is a small courtyard with lush greenery towering over.  There is a flock of Mallard ducks (yes, apparently Mallard ducks don’t only live in Canada!) that roam around campus and scavenge for lunchbox scraps. On my first day, there was a duck that was nibbling on a nutella sandwich inside the cloak bay.  I gave me a bit of a fright when it got spooked by my presence and flapped madly, trying to escape.

One of my favorite rooms in the school is the staff room.  With windows spanning the length of the room and a balcony that wraps around the outside, you feel as if you’re out in some secluded lodge in the woods.  At break times, the staff room is packed with staff who come to congregate over a warm “cuppa”.  The vibe is bubbly and inviting.

Though there is quite a bit to do and get sorted, my heart is at peace.  I am trying to use this time to gain a good start with my new students and really get to know them, though it is hard at times to not think about the students that were still mine just a week and a half ago…  Students have a way of etching themselves in to your hearts, making them impossible to forget.

8 thoughts on “Life in my classroom out West.

  1. Wow Mel, you write so beautifully of your new school. All the best, you are an amazing teacher and will make a positive impact on whomever you teach, forever. Carolyn xx

Leave a Reply

